Peugeot 301 wins car of the year award


Peugeot 301 has emerged car of the year 2016 in Nigeria, defeating Toyota Corolla and Nissan Almera

In a poll conducted by auto Journalists in Nigeria under the aegis of Nigeria Auto Journalists Association (NAJA), Peugeot 301 polled majority of votes in both on-line (members of the public) and  voting by the Journalists.

Managing Director of Peugeot Automobile  Nigeria (PAN) limited, Ibrahim Boyi, accompanied by senior staff received the award onbehalf of the company.

Also, the Mercedes Benz S-class emerged Luxury Car of the Year, beating the BMW Seven Series and Jaguar XJ.

Sports Utility Vehicle of the year went to Toyota Prado, while the Pick up of the year was won by Ford Ranger.


Toyota Hiace went home with the Mini Bus of the year award, while the Heavy Truck of the Year was won by Mercedes Actros.

Globe Hyundai and Jet Van Mercedes were joint winners in the Outstanding new entrant of the year category, just as God is Good Motors walked away with the Most Safety Conscious Transport Company of the Year.

Show Room of the Year Prize was won by Nissan, while Pirelli was won  Tyre Brand of the year.

Chisco Transport got  West Africa Coast Transport Company of the Year, while Yamaha was voted Motorcycle brand of the year.

In a related development, the Corps Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) was awarded Road Safety Personality of the Year.

The President of Coscharis group, Dr. Cosmas Maduka got the Auto Personality of the year award, while the Managing Director of Toyota Nigeria Limited was the CEO of the year.

Also, the late Executive Director of Nigeria Auto Manufacturers Association (NAMA), Mr. Arthur Madueke was given a post humous award.

Speaking at the event attended by acting  Lagos State Commissioner for Transportation, Prince Anofiu Olanrewaju Elegushi, representatives of the FRSC Corps Marshal, Boboye Oyeyemi,  the Chairman of NAJA, Mr. Frank Kintum said, “The Nigeria Auto Journalists Awards (NAJA) is undoubtedly the hallmark Auto industry recognition that has stood the test of time”.