Innoson, Jet Systems, Others Set For 2021 NAJA Awards


All is now set for the 2021 Nigeria Auto Journalists Association (NAJA) Awards scheduled to hold on Wednesday, December 1, 2021 at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos State.  


 According to the organisers, eventual winners in each of the categories are expected to be declared on that date.  

Chairman/founder of Elizade group and brain behind Toyota Nigeria Limited, Micheal Ade.Ojo, is expected to be honoured as the ‘Pillar Of Nigeria’ Auto industry’. 

 Special guests of the day are Jelani Aliyu, Director-General of the National Automotive Design & Devt Council (NADDC) and Boboye Oyeyemi, Corps Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC). 

New entrants for this year’s awards are Jet Systems listed in the Electric bus promoter of the year category; OMAA  mentioned in the Gas-powered vehicle promoter of the year category, among others. 

 The two brands are coming at a time when Nigeria is focusing and encouraging the shift from fossil fuel to electric and gas respectively to prospective vehicle buyers. 

Geely Coolray, marketed by Mikano International Limited is also in contention. 

According to the organisers of the event headed by chairman of the award committee; Theodore Opara, Car-of-The-Year (COTY) will be contested by Toyota Corolla, Hyundai Creta and Kia Rio.  

The Suzuki brand, which is being marketed by CFAO, is listed on the strongest comeback brand category, while PAN has been nominated for the most resilient auto company of the year.  

Nigeria’s indigenous automaker, Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Co is captured in auto manufacturer of the year ( local content)  because of its immense contribution in the development of the local auto industry and other ancillary allied automotive component makers. 

In his own remark, the  Chairman of the Nigeria’s Auto Journalists Association, Mike Ochonma said all vehicles nominated in the various categories represent exceptional value and designs.