Southern Nigeria Bans Open Grazing

Seventeen Governors of all the 17 states in Southern Nigeria rose from their meeting on security, at Asaba, Delta State, on Tuesday, and resolved to immediately ban the movement of cattle on foot to their territory as well as outlawing open grazing, as panaceas for tackling the insecurity in their region.

They also called for the restructuring of the Federation as well as for the Federal Government to initiate the immediate convocation of a national dialogue as a matter of urgency. 

According to them, the national dialogue would facilitate the emergence of the much-canvassed state police as well as a new revenue allocation formula. 

They also asked President Muhammadu Buhari to urgently address the nation about the country’s security situation in order to reignite the confidence of citizens. 

The communiqué bore the assent of all the 17 governors in the region, including: Chairman of the forum, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN), Governor of Ondo State; Dr. Victor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State; Chief Emmanuel Udom of Akwa Ibom State; Senator Diri Duoye of Bayelsa State; Willie Obiano of Anambra State; Ben Ayade of Cross River State; Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State; David Umahi of Ebonyi State; Godwin Obaseki of Edo State; John Olukayode Fayemi of Ekiti State; Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State; Hope Uzodimma of Imo State; Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State; Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State; Isiaka Adegboyega Oyetola of Osun State; Oluwaseyi Abiodun Makinde of Oyo State; and Ezenwo Nyesom Wike of Rivers State.