Nmanani, 23 others to review electoral laws

 A 24-member committee has been raised by the Federal Government to review the nation’s election process and suggest ways of improvement.
Under the leadership of former Senate President Ken Nnamani, the committee is to produce a new electoral framework, working with among others, unimplemented recommendations by similar bodies.
  Members of the committee are Dr. Mamman Lawal, of Bayero University, Kano (Secretary); Muiz Banire (SAN); Dr. Clement Nwankwo; Chief A.C Ude; and Director, Legal Drafting, Federal Ministry of Justice, Hamza Tahir, among others.
A statement issued by Salihu Isah, spokesman for the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation (AGF), Abubakar Malami (SAN), explained that  the committee would be inaugurated by the minister on Tuesday at the AGF’s Conference Room, Federal Ministry of Justice headquarters, Abuja.
He said: “The committee is expected to review electoral environment, laws and experiences from recent elections and make recommendations to strengthen and achieve the conduct of free and fair elections”.
 Isah explained that the Federal Government decision to review the electoral process was part of efforts to deepen democracy, ensure the creation of a process that meets global standard and the desire of the electorate.