CAF Releases First List Of Women Nominees For 2022 Awards


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Thursday released the first list of Women nominees for the 2022 CAF Awards in Morocco. 

A statement on the CAF website noted that the first list would still be narrowed to final nominees, adding that top women players currently in Morocco would be recognised. 

“As the group stages of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2022 reached crescendo this week, CAF released the first list of nominees for the women categories for the CAF Awards 2022. 

“The final list of nominees that will vie for the top prize will be announced closer to the event. 

“The categories include Player of the Year, Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year and Club of the Year. 


“The nominees for two other categories, Coach of the Year and National Team of the Year will be revealed in due course. 

“For the purpose of concluding a credible list, the performances at the ongoing Women’s AFCON will be taken into consideration in deciding on the nominees for the two categories,” it said. 

The statement said the winners of the categories would be announced at the Awards Gala on July 21 in Rabat, Morocco. 

It said that a panel made up of technical experts, CAF legends and media representatives decided on the first list for the various categories. 

It added that final list will be decided by a voting panel made up of CAF Technical Committee, media representatives, head coaches and captains of Member Associations and clubs involved at the group stage of the Interclub competitions. 

“The CAF Awards 2022 will be held ahead of the final of Africa’s flagship women’s competitions, Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2022 scheduled to take place between 02 July – 23 July 2022. 

“The event will also coincide with the two-year anniversary of the launch of the CAF Women’s Football Strategy,” the statement said. 

Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association) 

Player of the Year (Women) 

Lesege Radiakanyo (Botswana & Double Action), Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana & Township Rollers),
Rukiya Bizimana (Burundi & Etoile du matin), Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano), Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow) 

Others are: Jeanette Yango (Cameroon & FC Fleury),
Rose Bella (Cameroon & Trabzonspor), Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Alvaldsnes), Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas), Perpetual Agyekum (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas/Alvaldsnes) 

Also are Sanaa Mssoudy (Morocco & AS FAR), Ghizlane Chebbak (Morocco & AS FAR), Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco & AS FAR), Zenatha Coleman (Namibia & Fenerbahce), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona), Rasheedat Ajibade (Nigeria & Atletico Madrid), Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria & Paris FC) and
Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria & Tigres UANL). 

Others include: Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns), Bambanani Mbane (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns), Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Atletico Madrid) and Jermaine Seoposenwe (South Africa & Sporting Clube de Braga). 

The rest are: Refiloe Jane (South Africa & AC Milan) and Linda Motlhalo (South Africa & Djurgardens IF), Odette Gnintegma (Togo & Raja Ain Harrouda). 

Mariem Houij (Tunisia & ALG Spor), Sabrine Ellouzi (Tunisia & Feyenoord), Fazila Ikwaput (Uganda & Dove FC), Racheal Kundananji (Zambia & SD Eibar) and Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt) are not left out 

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): 

Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bambanani Mbanie (Mamelodi Sundowns), Zanele Nhlapho (Mamelodi Sundowns), Andisiwe Mgcoyi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Evelyn Badu (Sekondi Hasaacas/Alvaldsnes), Doris Boaduwaa (Sekondi Hasaacas) 

·Others are: Janet Egyir (Sekondi Hasaacas), Perpetual Agyekum (Sekondi Hasaacas/Alvaldsnes),
Fatima Zahra Dahmos (AS FAR), Ghizlane Chebbak (AS FAR), Sanaa Mssoudy (AS FAR), Fatima Tagnaout (AS FAR), Grace Mfwamba (Malabo Kings), Stephanie Gbogou (Malabo Kings) 

The rest include; Rose Bella (Malabo Kings), Fatoumatta Dukureh (Wadi Degla), Hayama Abdellatif (Wadi Degla), Gift Monday (River Angels/FC Robo), Maryann Ezenagu (River Angels), Bassira Toure (AS Mande). 

Young Player of the Year (Women): 

Rukiya Bizimana (Burundi & Etoile du Matin), Rediet Assresahagn (Ethiopia & Hawassa City FC), Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas/Alvaldsnes), Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas/Alvaldsnes),
Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne) 

Others include; Gift Monday (Nigeria & River Angels/FC Robo), Flourish Sebastine (Nigeria & Bayelsa Queens), Hapsatou Malado Diallo (Senegal & US Parcelles Assainies), Clara Luvanga (Tanzania & Yanga Princess) and Fauzia Najemba (Uganda & BIIK Kazygurt). 

Club of the Year (Women) 

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Sekondi Hasaacas (Ghana), AS FAR (Morocco), Malabo Kings (Equatorial Guinea), Wadi Degla (Egypt), River Angels (Nigeria) and AS Mande (Mali). NAN